Let’s Be “Radical” & Celebrate #WomensDay

17202704_10210988576964035_6254273614182813002_n.jpg

In a world full of patriarchy and misogyny, I am trying to surround myself with individuals that empower me, motivate me, and only strengthen my values for the better.

Today is International Women’s Day, and for some odd reason, as a woman, I don’t feel excited nor do I feel empowered.

I’m not sure exactly what it is, but I feel as though some sort of petty energy is going around in this world. Do you feel it? It makes people want to judge every step you take, criticize you about your looks, and give you advice that doesn’t actually benefit you in any way—and all this with a fake smile.

We have a president who thrives off of sexually harassing women, a first lady who has not yet come to the realization that she may perhaps be in an abusive relationship, and a system that aims to intimidate trans kids.

Where does that leave us?

It leaves us with nothing but fake friendships, ingenuine smiles, and a heavy heart.

Why, as time passes, are we women taught to not be happy for one another, to not want to see each other progress, to constantly have to compete with each other?

We live in a society where we are constantly pushed to compete with ourselves and the people around us. But when are we taught to love, to care, to be there for one another? To respect each other and our values, what we stand for, who we want to be?

Not to judge each other based on what jeans you’re wearing, what make-up you prefer, who you’re dating and other superficial factors that have no place in feminism.

For International Women’s Day, I choose to be open-minded, inclusive, and non-judgmental. I choose to let girls and women know that they are beautiful, that they have a certain strength that nobody can take away from them, that resistance is beautiful if it means that you are standing up for women’s rights everywhere.

Let’s keep jealousy and envy out of the equation—it only contaminates our soul and society.

For Women’s Day, I dare to be radical, to go out and compliment other girls and women. Tell them they’re beautiful, but most importantly, tell yourself you are beautiful.

Be you. And let others be themselves.

Let’s celebrate mothers, daughters, sisters, wives, girlfriends, lovers, housewives, teachers, strippers, lawyers, beyoncés, presidents, nurses, soldiers, and MORE..

One thought on “Let’s Be “Radical” & Celebrate #WomensDay

  1. Janice Wald says:

    Hi,
    Have we met? I celebrated women’s day by wearing red but no one noticed. My daughter marched and I was proud of her.
    Maybe you can check out my blog if you need any blogging tips. That’s what I write about. I also host 10 blog parties each month where are you could meet new readers.
    Janice

    Like

Leave a Reply

